DAILY MAIL 🔵 Ian Maatsen handed late call-up by the Netherlands for Euro 2024 – Shango Media

DAILY MAIL 🔵 Ian Maatsen handed late call-up by the Netherlands for Euro 2024

  • Ian Maatsen will go to Euro 2024 instead of the injured Teun Koopmeiners
  • Netherlands will only take 25 players despite 26 being the maximum squad size
  • Click here to follow Mail Sport’s Euro 2024 WhatsApp Channel for all the latest breaking news and updates from Germany

The Netherlands have called up Ian Maatsen to their squad for Euro 2024 in Germany.

Chelsea left back Maatsen – who spent the 2023-24 season on loan at Borussia Dortmund – replaces midfielder Teun Koopmeiners.

Atalanta star Koopmeiners will miss the tournament with a groin injury suffered while warming up for Monday’s 4-0 friendly win over Iceland.

Dutch coach Ronald Koeman had already ruled Barcelona midfielder Frenkie de Jong out of the tournament with an ankle injury.

But 22-year-old Maatsen, who had been on holiday in Greece, is the only replacement brought into the squad. 

Left back Ian Maatsen has been handed a late call-up to Euro 2024 by the Netherlands

Atalanta midfielder Teun Koopmeiners will miss the tournament with a groin injury

Therefore, Koeman will only take 25 players to Germany on Tuesday ahead of their first game against Poland in Hamburg on Sunday.

Maatsen, whose absence from the initial squad raised some eyebrows in the Netherlands, featured in 23 games for Dortmund last season.

He has been capped by the Netherlands in the U15, U16, U17 U18 and U21 age groups but has not yet made his senior international debut.

After facing Poland next week, the Dutch will also take on France and Austria in Group D.


Goalkeepers: Justin Bijlow (Feyenoord), Mark Flekken (Brentford), Bart Verbruggen (Brighton)

Defenders: Nathan Ake (Manchester City), Daley Blind (Girona), Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool), Denzel Dumfries (Inter Milan), Jeremie Frimpong (Bayer Leverkusen), Lutsharel Geertruida (Feyenoord), Matthijs de Ligt (Bayern Munich), Micky van de Ven (Tottenham), Stefan de Vrij (Inter Milan), Ian Maatsen (Chelsea)

Midfielders: Ryan Gravenberch (Liverpool), Tijjani Reijnders (AC Milan), Jerdy Schouten (PSV), Xavi Simons (RB Leipzig), Joey Veerman (PSV), Georginio Wijnaldum (Ettifaq)

Forwards: Steven Bergwijn (Ajax), Brian Brobbey (Ajax), Memphis Depay (Atletico Madrid), Cody Gakpo (Liverpool), Donyell Malen (Borussia Dortmund), Wout Weghorst (Hoffenheim)

Dutch boss Ronald Koeman is only taking 25 players to the Euros after multiple injury blows

The winner of Group D will face the runners-up from Group F (Turkey, Georgia, Portugal or the Czech Republic) in the round of 16.

Meanwhile, the team that finishes second in Group D will take on the runners-up from Group E (Belgium, Slovakia, Romania or Ukraine).

Bouton retour en haut de la page